Hello, my name is Jamie. I am proud to raise beef cattle.

2015 is looking to be a year of changes for me.  The first of which is me leaving my city job to be on the farm 100%.  While this may be a dream come true for many of my readers, it is a scary proposition for me.  It means a complete re-writing of a future I had envisioned for myself.

I was born and raised a city dweller.  Both my parents are small business owners who made it their goal to see that I was able to attend University and complete both a Bachelor’s and a Master’s degree.  I completed a Bachelor’s in Biology and a Master’s in Neuropsychiatry.  Both focussed on Molecular Biology and I had planned to spend my working life in research labs.  After school I worked for a pharmaceutical company and then moved on to work at the Canadian Light Source overseeing the biosafety program.  Turns out I hated the workplace culture that seemed rampant in the science community.

Lucky for me in 2007 I met a cattleman.  Over the years he has moved me further from the city and I’ve learned to appreciate the ranching lifestyle and the community.  It is a stressful and rewarding way of life.  It is unpredicatble and liberating.  It is heartbreaking and inspirational.  Our community is spread out all over the countryside but we are close knit.  For such a seemingly simple lifestyle, ranch life is incredibly rich and complex.

I used to blog on this site a few years ago.  It was mostly light hearted, silly stories written for my friends and family.  In 2014 I became much more involved in agriculture and have been inspired by some projects on there.  I’ve decided now is a great time to re-start the blog with a new focus.  I hope to offer you a window into our operation.  If you have any questions or suggestions on topics let me know.

Here’s to 2015!

3 thoughts on “Hello, my name is Jamie. I am proud to raise beef cattle.

  1. Bravo! I used to be a vegetarian for the same so-called party line humanitarian reasons. Then I landed in the hospital. My body couldn’t keep up with it, needed more–cause I was eating lots of vegetarian fast foods. I began to eat meat and felt bad until someone introduced me to the book, “The Vegetarian Myth” by Lierre Keith. OMG! That book rocked my entire world! Lierre was a militant 20 year vegan with a compelling tale of her own near self destruction. This book is well researched and credible, soulful, thoughtful and chock full of relevant wisdom. She asks about what else is dying for the food on your plate. From the back cover: “The truth is that agriculture is a relentless assault against the planet, nad more of the same won’t save us. In service to annual grains, humans have devastated prairies and forests, driven countless species extinct, altered the climate, and destroyed the topsoil–the basis of life itself. Keith argues that if we are to save this planet, our food must be an act of profound and abiding repair: it must come from inside living communities, not be imposed across them.” This book covers the full spectrum of Moral Vegetarians, Political Vegetarians and Nutritional Vegetarians. An excellent reference manual!!!

Leave a Reply

